Wednesday Words #7

20140226-124619.jpg

Last week, I failed. I had a lot to do. I was way behind. I did a horrible job of looking ahead and a great job at procrastinating. I had a lot of fun doing a lot of things that really weren’t important.

This week, I’m reaping the consequences. I have a test coming up on Friday and I’m days behind where I should be. I’m in over my head and I’m not quite sure if it’s humanly possible to do what I need to do in a few short days.

At this point I have two options.

Option number one is to throw a pity party. I could just stop trying. I’ve messed up, haven’t I? I have every right to cry my eyes out. I can eat my emergency chocolate and play mindless games. Why not?

The second option is much more difficult, but at the same time it is much more rewarding. That is to recognize my failure, learn from it, and move on.

Yes, I failed. I often will. That’s life. That’s human nature. But that doesn’t have to define me. “Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.”

The courage to wipe my eyes and abandon my pity party.

The courage to finish strong, no matter how I’ve messed up.

The courage to try better next time.

The courage to learn from my mistakes.

The courage to lean on my God for strength.

The courage to trust Him to teach me through my failure.

I have failed. I will continue to fail. But I can remember this: the courage to continue is what really counts.

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” 
― Winston Churchill

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Words #7

Do you have something to add?

