Destroying My Desires

20140418-115009.jpg
I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my habit of doing what I want even if it most likely doesn’t line up with what I know to be true. I have a calling from God: to bring Him glory. But yet I still turn away and do what I want to do even if it pulls me from Him. Here are some scriptures I dug up on the subject:

Romans 13:14
But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires.

Galatians 5:16-17
But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do.

Galatians 5:24
And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.

Ephesians 4:20-24
But that is not the way you learned Christ! — assuming that you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus, to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.

1 John 2:15-17
Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world— the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride of life —is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.

The Bible is very clear. As followers of Christ, we are not to do what we want, but what our God wants us to do. We are not to give into our desires for comfort, happiness, and ease. We are to walk in the Spirit. We are to put off that old self and be renewed in the spirit of our minds. Our desire should be to be like Christ, not to seek our own happiness. I struggle with this for sure.

That’s all from me today. I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while. I am busy, but some of my busyness comes from the fact that I let my desires come before the desires my Savior has for me. When I let my desires take over, my life seems to fall apart. But when I let His desires for me fill all my vision, that is where I find true peace.

Do you have anything to add? Another scripture reference? A story to share? Comment below. :)

2 thoughts on “Destroying My Desires

  1. Hi Megan

    It has been a while indeed! The post you just wrote is so on point though. Is it not the dilemna of all the children of God. We want to do God’s will, follow the spirit’s leading but then there is the flesh! A whole different ball game! If I weighed how many times I let the flesh lead instead of the spirit, the flesh would win and this is where it gets crazy, I want to please God!!!! I want to walk in the spirit!!! What do we do then? Rely on the grace and mercy of God. Trust that He loves me despite the sin I commit. He loves me! A great post Megan! Have a great Happy Easter weekend!

    Rolain.

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Rolain! You are so right! I can relate. I want with all my heart to follow Jesus, but yet my flesh wins out more often than not. I need to learn to walk in the Spirit. Happy Easter weekend to you as well!

Do you have something to add?

