Day 4 – May Blogging Challenge

Day 4 – Best childhood memory

I don’t know that I have one standout favorite memory. Honestly my childhood is mostly a happy blur. If I think back I can pinpoint especially happy moments, but for the most part I just have a general idea of happy memories. If I have to pick, here are three.

1. May 2000 – (This is one of my earliest memories.) I was four. On my way home from Cubbies, I talked with my mom about what it meant to ask Jesus to be my Savior. She explained it to me and talked to me, helping me to make sure I knew what it meant. I insisted that I wanted to “ask Jesus into my heart.” She guided me to pray in my own words and ask Jesus to forgive me and be my Savior. I didn’t fully understand what it meant for me that day, but I just remember how happy I was and how excited I was to tell the rest of my family.

2. September 2005 – I was ten. My family went to the beach with another family. We were having a great time, and then Hurricane Katrina approached. We weren’t too near the path of the storm, but it was recommended that we evacuate. After our parents watched the weather and prayed about it, they decided that we would stay on the island. They were more worried about crossing the bridge to the mainland than staying in our beach house. Needless to say, we made it out just fine. The water didn’t rise very far at all. But afterwards the sea was really fun to swim in — lots of semi-high waves to ride on. :)

3. October 2006 – On a camping trip with my family, I got to hold a baby for a while. He fell asleep in my arms! It was the first time that had ever happened to me and I remember how much I loved it (and it’s still one of my very favorite things). I remember that even though it was a little uncomfortable I didn’t want to move for fear he would wake up. Even when someone offered to take him I didn’t want to give him up. :)

Care to share one of YOUR favorite childhood memories? I’d love to hear it!

Do you have something to add?

